Mondays are for Adulting

First Big Girl Car

Hello Worlders~

Back in November I got my first big girl, I’m paying all by myself car!

tenor
Source

And I have a lot of thoughts about my new car, my old car and the feelings of letting go of my first car for my first big girl car.

So, I guess I should begin by telling you about my first car. It was a 2004 mini van (yes, all though college I was the 19-23 year old driving a mini van, I was three kids and a haircut away from being a soccer mom (A lot of my friends predict that I will be in the future lol)). And when my mom was teaching me to drive she decided to buy some mail box stickers to put on the back of the car so it read “Student Driver.” Now I don’t know if you guys know this but mailbox stickers are super sticky and the don’t come off of cars easily. After trying EVERYTHING I found on google to remove them I got two letters off so then my car  read “s udent D iver.”

giphy
Source

But I loved the car. I’ll be honest the car didn’t drive as well as I wished it did and the AC was shot. But she was my car. She got from point A to point B for about four and half years! She was my baby.

And then back in November she started to die on me. I was driving home from work one day when she started to feel weird. She sounded like a plane attempting to take off, every time I hit the gas I wondered if this would be the time my car wouldn’t start again and then every time I put my foot on the brake I prayed that I wouldn’t hit the car in front of me. My mom and I discussed getting it checked out but ultimately decided that it wasn’t going to be worth it to get it fix because there was no guarantee that she would last much longer.

And thus began the car search. I had been saving for sometime to put a depoist on a new car. I was hoping since I was young that I would be able to afford some type of crossover or jeep style car when I finally bought my first car. Mainly because I had learned to drive on a mini van and had only driven a mini van for the past four years. But I quickly learned that I wouldn’t be able to afford it.

But after meeting a great car salesman (after meeting a horrible one) I found a car that I felt like I could settle for, not a feeling that I was hoping for with my first big girl car. I was lucky enough to find a car that I could lease which means I have 2017 with a lot of the bells and whistle that go with a new car.

tenor1
Source

I drove off the lot excited that I had car that I didn’t have to panic would break down at any moment but still a little disappointed that it was my dream car. I know, I know what was I thinking, dream car at 23, fat chance.

But then I started to think about and I started to really love the car. It drives so nicely and I feel like such a big girl. I have a car that I’m comfortable with. When I get out of it, I don’t feel like a soccer mom and instead of twenty-something, whole life ahead of her, girl. And most importantly my car no longer says “S udent D iver” across the back.

And sometimes I miss my first car, she’s kind of like my first love, I’ll never forget her but I’m in a better place now.

Did you feel the same why about your first car? Let me know in the comments down below.

One thought on “First Big Girl Car

Leave a comment